Summerslam Preview and Predictions, 2010

Summerslam 2010, The Staples Center, Los Angeles

This week’s RAW did a very good job of hyping up their side of the PPV, and I think there are more than enough ‘blockbuster’ matches for ‘ the biggest event of the summer.’ Indeed, the first real match between Nexus and WWE guys on a big stage is mouth-watering enough. I’m also looking forward to the WWE Championship match, the new twists in the Kane-Rey Mysterio-Undertaker storyline, and the Dolph Ziggler-Kofi Kingston return match.

It is clear to me that there will be at least one, and maybe two matches added to this slim-seeming card. I realise a match was being planned between LayCool and Kelly Kelly & Tiffany, but it seems Tiffany has been suspended, so that may not happen, especially seen as the Smackdown divas roster is very bare. Maybe Rosa Mendes will get teamed with Kelly, but that makes little sense to me, and I have no interest in Kelly Kelly getting another title shot. Incidentally, I may post something about Tiffany’s suspension and the Smackdown divas situation. One possibility could be Miz, if he turns down being in Team RAW, could be punished by being forced to defend the US Title. The impromptu nature of the match could help him drop the title (which he needs to do) without looking weak. It would be nice to see one or both of Ted DiBiase or Evan Bourne get PPV booking in a title match too (pending whether either of them could end up in Team RAW), and could give the US title a new lease of life. Another option could be MVP against Jack Swagger. Perhaps Swagger, seeking revenge for his loss on Smackdown, could attack MVP backstage and Teddy Long could make it official. That feud may be too new to merit PPV booking though.

Intercontinental Championship Match: Dolph Ziggler (c) vs Kofi Kingston
Ignoring the possibility of the Smackdown divas match, I think the opening match will probably be the Intercontinental Championship match betwwen new champion Dolph Ziggler and Kofi Kingston. It’d be a high-quality, interesting match to grap the viewer’s attention, and I think if this one if given decent time it could be a very good match. Kofi has been selling his fury very well, and was pretty clearly screwed over when losing the title. That, plus Dolph’s burgeoning rise makes this match interesting, not to mention the sheer athleticism of both guys. It is clear, however, that Dolph will go over in this match. It would just be senseless to have him drop the title back to Kofi, especially when he’s started to look like a credible top guy. I doubt, however, that his victory will be completely clean – be it Dolph cheating of Vickie Guerrero. This could mean that the feud will continue between the two, which I think is a good move. Perhaps Kofi could get another shot at Night of Champions, perhaps along with other upper-mid carders like Cody Rhodes, MVP and Christian.

Winner: Dolph Ziggler

Big Show vs The Straight-Edge Society
Following this will be the Big Show vs S.E.S. match. At least, it doesn’t deserve to be any higher than this. It’s a shame i’m saying this about a CM Punk match, but this match just holds no interest for me, so I wont talk that much about it. I think Big Show will probably go over. It looks like the end might be near for the S.E.S., with Luke Gallows getting increasingly bold and stepping on Punk’s toes. I see some sort of mistake involving Gallows costing the S.E.S. the match, and causing thereafter tension between him and Punk. Hopefully this match will be their last act against Big Show. If he doesn’t feud with Jack Swagger, I maintain that an MVP-S.E.S. feud would be money.

Winner: The Big Show

WWE Championship Match: Sheamus (c) vs Randy Orton
Usually, I reserve the WWE Championship match for the main event, but for reasons i’ll explain later (regarding the Nexus storyline), I think there’s a chance it could be a little lower down the card. As I say, this match has had some very good build-up, and i’m very much looking forward to it. I foresee another retention here though. I just think it would be a little meaningless to put the belt on Orton at this point, whereas Sheamus keeping the title against Orton would make him look like a very strong champion. I’m not sure whether Sheamus will even cheat to get this victory. Maybe they’ll want to keep Orton looking strong, so he wont lose clean – there’s even an outside chance that Nexus will have their say in this match, distracting Orton or something, but don’t quote me on that!

Winner: Sheamus

Divas Championship Match: Alicia Fox (c) vs Melina
Two weeks ago when Melina returned, I was excited about this match, but this week’s confrontation didn’t really entice me. My heart says that i’d love to see Alicia Fox continue her charge and retain the title, against all odds (at least in wrestle-logic terms, when you’d expect any returning challenger to take the title). However, i’m pretty sure Melina will win the match as the returning challenger. These two are certainly capable of putting on a quality match, I just hope they’re given the time and opportunity to do so – there is a decent chance of this given how Melina has recently returned.

Winner: Melina

World Heavyweight Championship Match: Kane (c) vs Rey Mysterio
I am looking forward to this match for various reasons: one being that I really like the attack angle, and secondly, because Summerslam will provide the stage for a much needed teist to the angle. It’s difficult to predict because the result will surely depend on who Undertaker’s attacker is, and how this effects the match. The most likely x-factor in this match is the slated return of the Undertaker, made more credible by Kane’s recent news that the Undertaker briefly regained consciousness recently. My heart says that Rey Mysterio was Undertaker’s attacker, and it would make sense and be genuinely shocking, but Kane has been acting and being booked more like a heel as of late – maybe that’s a swerve, but it’s difficult to prove. All I will say is I like this twoing and fro-ing of accusations. Usually a heel will be bolshy in their actions, so this defensive accusations of each other is psychologically interesting. There is also an outside chance that the attacker was someone else, or even Nexus, but I think it is most likely one of these two. As you can probably tell, i’m really struggling predicting this one, which is actually a plus point. As for the match itslef, i’m sure it will be decent. They’ve wrestled before, so they should have some chemistry, although I don’t think the two will give us anything too special. Because I genuinely don’t know, i’m going to say that ‘Taker will resurface and attack Rey Mysterio, thus proving that he was thae attacker, and meaning that Kane will win via disqualification. I think Kane will be keeping the belt for a while. I just hope – as i’ve said elsewhere – that the casket takes a back seat in this match out of respect for the late Lance Cade.

Winner: Kane

Team RAW (John Cena, Bret Hart, Chris Jericho, Edge, John Morrison, R-Truth and a possible mystery team-mate) vs The Nexus (Wade Barrett, David Otunga, Michael Tarver, Justin Gabriel, Skip Sheffield, Heath Slater and Darren Young)
There is so much to talk about with this much, I think i’ll split it in to stages. Firstly, the result. I think a Team RAW win would make the continuation of the angle difficult, so I imagine Nexus will take this one. As for the match, a seven on seven elimination match doesn’t promise much in terms of technical greatness, but with the amount of veterans, i’m sure ther’ll be a lot of good points. Plus, the freshness of the Nexus seven will add something to the match.
Another big question surrounding this match is who might be Team RAW’s seventh member, if anybody. Before tofay, I though Miz was very likely, but the more I think about it, the more I think that would be too obvious, so, eventhough I have no basis for this, I am predicting the scenario I talked about before (Miz not joining, and as punishment, having to defend the US title). I’m sure there will be a surprise member, and there are few that stand out. As far as I know, HHH is still legitimately injured, it’s too early for Daniel Bryan to return and Khali doesn’t have the star calibre to make a main-event surprise. So I think there’s a chance that Randy Orton will become the seventh member. I think his participation in Team RAW would make the team seem like a genuine all-star team, and would be a genuine surprise (well, not to me!). This is why I predicted the WWE Championship match will be lower on the card – because if Orton is doing double-duty, he’ll need the rest period. I think Orton will be a welcome, violent factor in the Nexus storyline, and given that a loss would have him out of the title picture, the Nexus storyline is the logical place to go.
The final big issue is who and whether there will be a betrayal on Team RAW. I imagine that there will be, as that would light a new spark under the storyline. The main ‘suspects’ are John Cena, Bret Hart, Chris Jericho or Edge (or a comination of those four). After their return to the team, i’m sure it’ll be neither of Jericho or Edge. That would make a bit too much too-ing and fro-ing. There’s nothing i’d love more than a John Cena heel turn, and he’s really due one. While I don’t think it’s impossible, and there will be few better opportunities than this, but i’m still skeptical. Eventhough it would be mind-blowing, I don’t think we’ll be seeing a Bret Hart heel-turn. With him not really being an in-ring competitor, I think the value in a Hart heel-turn is limited – it would be hard to sell that that turn would really benefit Nexus. John Morrison looks like he’s nearing a heel-turn, so he’s a possibility, although i’m not convinced everyone would care as much if it was him; the same goes for R-Truth. Out of the seven then, I think John Cena is the most likely. Maybe that’s wishful thinking. As I say, i’m skeptical. This match is such a tinderbox though, that it’s difficult to predict anything about it!

Winners: The Nexus

If all of the blockbuster matches (The two world title matches and the Nexus match) deliver in terms of wrestling and storyline, then Summerslam will be a fantastic PPV. I doubt it will be fully satisfying, just because so many people have so many different preferences about what they’d like to see happen in these complex storylines. Nonetheless, i’m looking forward to an enthralling and – for me – exciting and satisfying PPV.

Leave a Reply

