Serena Fired From WWE

It was announced today that S.E.S. member and anti-diva has been ‘future endeavoured’ by WWE.

I don’t usually post on every release, but this strikes me as a huge shame. Not only because she was just getting going in her television career (having only had her first televised match this past Friday!), but also because she really wasn’t part of the WWE mould of divas. Indeed, seeing a woman getting her head shawed on wrestling television was quite a shocking but progressive moment in my eyes.

Now, her match on Smackdown was not good, but not fire-worthy. Given that she only had her first match this week, it seems strange that she has been released, and seems to point to some backstage politics of sorts. I heard that it has something to do with her not being ‘straight-edge’ outside of the ring. I wont say anything more than that, because I don’t want to speculate on what she may or may not have done.

UPDATE: It seems Serena was released for similar reasons to Mickie James, i.e., unprofessional behaviour on the road. Apparantly, the segment which saw Serena get drunk with ‘a friend’ and lambasted by the S.E.S. was meant as a warning to her (aside from her being warned explicitly as well). There’s been a lot of hate towards WWE for this release, but it seems now that it was justified. Again, what a shame.

She will be appearing on this week’s Smackdown, which was taped last week (making the firing seem all the more sudden and further suggesting that she may have done something fire-worthy recently).

What is more is that it relieves Smackdown of yet another diva! Yes, she had only just become active in the ring, but it’s still not good for their roster. I speculated in my latest ‘RAW Recall’ that Smackdown’s shortage may lead to the splitting up of LayCool and Melina coming to Smackdown with some title jiggery-pokery (my only evidence being that LayCool have openly challenged Melina this week). I wont speculate any further than that because it’s difficult to guess exactly what could happen, but it’s one possibility.

2 thoughts on “Serena Fired From WWE

  1. I have not checked in here for a while since I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are really great quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend. :)

  2. I really wanted to make a comment in order to appreciate you for those wonderful hints you are giving out at this site. My particularly long internet lookup has now been rewarded with good insight to share with my colleagues. I would state that that most of us visitors are truly blessed to exist in a great place with very many outstanding individuals with useful hints. I feel very grateful to have come across your web pages and look forward to really more amazing minutes reading here. Thanks a lot once more for all the details.

Leave a Reply

