Chris Jericho Career Update

Chris Jericho as the host of game show, Downfall

When I started this blog, I said it would be a Critical look at wrestling, and not a rumour-mill, but in this case (as I have in others, admittedly), i’m making an exception.

On RAW this week, Chris Jericho said in a backstage interview that if he doesn’t win the WWE Championship at Night of Champions, he will leave the WWE for good. In my review of the show, I speculated that this angle would end in Chris Jericho taking some time off, but not retiring. I made this prediction based on the fact that relatively recently, I heard that Jericho had a tour coming up with with his band, Fozzy, but also that Jericho felt good and wanted to keep wrestling for a couple of years.

I know I should take what the dirt sheets say with a pinch of salt, but it has been widely speculated after this week’s RAW that Jericho may indeed be retiring. There are several reasons for this belief: one is simply his age. He is not too old to wrestle by any means, but a man of his all-round talent could mean that he wants to retire and move on before he gets stale. Also, he has apparantly acknowledged his expiring contract in several recent interviews, and has suggested he’s considering moving on.

It’s no surprise that he sees himself in the wider entertainment industry in the future (as could be seen by his hosting of the quiz show, Downfall), as well as commitments with Fozzy and his family.

All I really want to say is that I really hope he doesn’t retire yet. Him being my favourite wrestler, this may be selfish of me, but I think he could easily wait a couple of years to move on without losing his star potential. My instinct is still that he will only be taking a brief hiatus, a’la 2005 before coming back as a HUGE babyface, but I must admit, i’m taking the retirement rumours more seriously now … I just hope it isn’t true.

For posterity, here is a link to a recent interview with Y2J, which I think backs up my instinct that he wont be retiring just yet: http://theuppercardnetwork.com/?p=4709 I think this line is especially reassuring: “I’ll leave the business when I’m ready to and I’m not ready yet. I still want to continue to work. I still have some things that I can offer. I still think I’m among the best in what I do,” but I think I should stop speculating. Only Jericho gets this treatment from me! I think i’m projecting …

3 thoughts on “Chris Jericho Career Update

  1. Pingback: World Wide News Flash

  2. I needed to post you the tiny note to help say thanks once again about the fantastic solutions you have discussed in this article. This has been certainly particularly open-handed of you to present publicly exactly what a number of us could have offered for sale for an electronic book to end up making some money on their own, most importantly given that you could have tried it in case you desired. These strategies in addition acted like a easy way to fully grasp other people have similar zeal the same as my own to realize more with regard to this problem. I am certain there are a lot more fun sessions ahead for individuals who scan through your blog.

  3. I’m very glad Today on facebook. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my buddy were just preparing to do your homework concerning this. My business is glad to find out such reliable info being shared freely in existence.

Leave a Reply

